Naga Chokkanathan

Classic Wisdom For The Professional Life By Bryan Curtis (Editor)

Posted on: May 25, 2010

Whenever I travel, I always carry a book or two with me, Just to save me from boring queues and long waits for the train or flight to arrive.

But at the same time, I don’t miss the opportunity to visit an airport bookstore, or a railway station stall where magazines and books are sold. I just do window shopping. if anything interests me, I may buy, but most of the time I observe people, and what kind of books they buy and I try to imagine why.

In such Privacy-invasing observations, one thing I notice constantly is, people tend to buy short books, especially the ones between 80 to 120 pages, typeset in BIG fonts. These are books you can read quickly, grasp the concepts in a flash and probably finish the book in the same trip. Thesedays I even see books which announce proudly “It Just takes 45 Minutes to read”.

Obviously, people prefer short books, which add value to them, and from that angle, the one I finished reading just now (Classic Wisdom For The Professional Life – Edited By Bryan Curtis) is a real Gem. Its content is very crisp, excellent selection of quotes, amazing book production, something you can gift to any student/ working professional.

Even though the book title says “Classic”, the quotes inside are applicable even today. You can find philosophers, authors, prime ministers, presidents, sports personalities, actors, industrialists and many more sharing their wisdom with us.

I could finish reading this book in flat 32 minutes, Not because its short, But because I could feel most of the quotes directly talk to me and I couldn’t stop reading. Strongly recommended for a quick, insightful read!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of the Organization He works for / belongs to.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 60 other followers

Big Adda

