Naga Chokkanathan

Why Not? — Emails Talk

Posted on: July 16, 2010

Recently I bought a book from an online store (betterworldbooks.com) and couple of days later, I got a mail confirming that my book is shipped now.

Usually we don’t even open such machine-generated emails because … well, they are machine-generated and boring, they lack a human / personal touch. Also, most of the times the subject itself tells us what is inside the mail, why bother opening it?

But this time, for some strange reason, I opened the mail and was pleasantly surprised to read a very unusual message. It was machine-written all right, but even in such an automated response, they managed to add a bit of creativity and enhance my customer experience. Here is that mail for you to read and enjoy (Believe me, you WILL enjoy it, even though it’s machine-written and not addressed to you!)

Hello Naga,

Holy canasta! It’s me… it’s me! I can’t believe it is actually me!

You could have picked any of over 2 million books but you picked me!

I’ve got to get packed! How is the weather where you live? Will I need a dust jacket? I can’t believe I’m leaving Mishawaka, Indiana already – the friendly people, the Hummer plant, the Linebacker Lounge – so many memories. I don’t have much time to say goodbye to everyone, but it’s time to see the world!

I can’t wait to meet you! You sound like such a well read person. Although, I have to say, it sure has taken you a while! I don’t mean to sound ungrateful, but how would you like to spend five months sandwiched between Jane Eyre (drama queen) and Fundamentals of Thermodynamics (pyromaniac)?

I know the trip to meet you will be long and fraught with peril, but after the close calls I’ve had, I’m ready for anything (besides, some of my best friends are suspense novels). Just five months ago, I thought I was a goner. My owner was moving and couldn’t take me with her. I was sure I was landfill bait until I ended up in a Better World Books book drive bin. Thanks to your socially conscious book shopping, I’ve found a new home.

Eagerly awaiting our meeting,

– Your Book

Such a simple mail, but it conveys so many things about the company and builds customer relationship in a very unusual manner. Just few days back, I didn’t even know a website like this existed, but now, I am eager to buy more and more from them, difference – a single Email. Effective communication, Indeed!

If you have some extra time, Just re-read this beautiful mail once again, and this may be the right time to ask this question ourselves, ‘What do my Emails say about me? Am I sending a positive, likeable image? If not, what can be done differently?’

(023)

***

N. Chokkan …

16 07 2010

13 Responses to "Why Not? — Emails Talk"

Awesome,Wonderful ,lovely ,adorable, I am finding more words to express my joy 🙂
–Dhanasekar S

Thanks for sharing.
Will think/rearrange/rewrite my emails before sending.

[…] W&#1211&#1091 N&#959t? — Emails Talk « Naga Chokkanathan […]

Some interesting posts, have added to my RSS feeds look forward to future posts

Brill! Will find this usefull and will add it to my bloglist

Great info, great posts, will add your blog to my blog for my readers to see!

Great idea, thanks for this post!

Very good and creative! 😀

Good one,made me think twice before sending a mail.

I would like to exchange links with your site nagachokkanathan.wordpress.com
Is this possible?

[…] The busiest day of the year was July 16th with 275 views. The most popular post that day was Why Not? — Emails Talk. […]

I really liked this one…I must have read it a couple of times, and thought I leave a comment! Amazing!

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of the Organization He works for / belongs to.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 60 other followers

Big Adda

