Naga Chokkanathan

I just saw a fantastic AD from Mountain Dew (https://www.facebook.com/mountaindewindia) which was in my mother tongue Tamil.

Releasing an AD in a local language is not big deal. Many companies do this, but the best thing I liked about this video is that it makes fantastic use of a classic Tamil poem by Bharathiyar (அச்சமில்லை அச்சமில்லை அச்சமென்பதில்லையே). In fact we can even see that the AD seems to be inspired by this poem.

We take risks every day. Of course, those risks are not as big as the ones these three youngsters in the video take. But we sure see risk element in doing almost everything in life. It can be as simple as walking on the road, or as complex as entrepreneurship or getting married 🙂

While I think back, my biggest risk was participating in a half marathon, with a big fat tummy!

There were people around me who were fit and perfect. They ran at lightning speeds, while I had to manage with a mixture of walking, jogging / slow running. I felt so bad when everyone overtook me.

After few minutes, I was the last person on the track. I lost all motivation and wanted to return back.

When I cross the 10 kilo meter mark (which I have done many times before), I was thinking, ‘should I continue for another 11+ kilo meters? Or just stop here? I can always try a half marathon later, when I am fit and ready.’

Frankly speaking, I was not physically tired at that time. I felt confident that I can do another 11+ Kilo meters, but being the last person on the track was mentally tiring. I felt bad for even opting to do this.

But for some reason, I continued. I refused to look around (fortunately for me, I was running on an elevated flyover, so it was an empty road, no one can make fun of this last person on the track, except myself!)

While I was in 18th Kilo meter, a vehicle came near me. They asked me if I am interested in getting a ride to the finish point.

I told them, ‘No! I will complete the remaining 3 Kilo meters myself. Thanks!’

They told me that they have closed this entire elevated flyover for the half marathon for few hours. Now, everyone has completed it and I am the only person. They can’t keep it closed for a single person. They need to open it for traffic.

So, they insisted I get on their vehicle. They told me 18 kilo meters is as good as 21.

I refused to listen to them. I told them to open the traffic without waiting for me. They told it will be dangerous and once again asked me to get on their vehicle.

All this conversation happened while I was running (OK, I admit, it was walking!) and fortunately, they didn’t forcibly make me stop. I did complete those three remaining kilo meters and did my first Half Marathon. Organizers were kind enough to keep a busy flyover closed, for the sake of one person!

Of course, this is not a big risk according to its dictionary definition. But it was big for me 🙂 I hope someday I will be able to write a similar article about my first Marathon experience!

1 Response to "21 = 18?"

HI Sir…Great & hats off for not giving up 🙂 🙂 I have to faced the same situation when i ran for 42.. Event was get closed and for me it take more 2 hours to complete the distance.. But when i complete the happiness which i felt was chance less 🙂 🙂 And wish u all the best sir 🙂

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer

The opinions expressed here are the views of the writer and do not necessarily reflect the views and opinions of the Organization He works for / belongs to.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 57 other followers

Big Adda

